Menteri Besar Azmin however wants all quarters to be patient and wait for announcement of candidates

SHAH ALAM: Pakatan Harapan has finalised its seat allocation in Selangor which had dragged on for nearly three months.

PKR deputy president and Selangor Menteri Besar Azmin Ali confirmed that the Opposition pact made up of PKR, DAP, Amanah and PPBM, have agreed on seats allocated to each party.

“Alhamdulillah (thank God), it has been done. Be patient and wait for our announcement,” he was quoted as saying in the Malay Mail Online.

The news report however said Azmin was tight-lipped when asked about the probable announcement dates for the Selangor Pakatan candidates.

“We will see, but it will be announced before nomination day. Could be tomorrow or day after tomorrow; what is important is that is has been finalised,” he said.

Last week Malay Mail had reported that about six seats in Selangor were still being deliberated by party leaders.

The seats in question were identified as Sungai Burong, Sungai Panjang, Seri Serdang, Lembah Jaya, Kota Damansara and Dusun Tua.

Azmin also refused to elaborate in detail concerning claims he might abandon his parliamentary seat in Gombak and instead contest the one in Ampang.

“I will leave it to the party to decide. I have received many offers, such as Pekan, and even Bagan Datuk, and there are still offers coming my way.

“Ultimately it is for the leaders to decide. I am fine anywhere. Throw me to the ocean and I will turn into an island, throw me on land and I will grow into a mountain,” he said after handing over cheques of financial aid to over 200 vernacular and convent schools at the state secretariat building this morning.

Meanwhile, Selangor Pakatan election director Xavier Jayakumar revealed at the same event that an announcement of the candidates could take place several days before nomination day.

“We are looking to announce our candidates for Selangor on April 25 or 26, where a big event will be held at a location we will soon confirm,” he said.

Xavier said the decision of candidacy was finalised only within the last 48-hours, and revealed there would be fresh faces being fielded by the component parties.

Selangor has 56 state constituencies. In the last election DAP won 14, PKR (13), PAS (13) and Amanah (2). There are two independent candidates in the state assembly. Barisan Nasional won 12 seats in the polls.