A party leader says the list is mere specultion and only the party president knows the original list

KUALA LUMPUR: MIC has rubbished a speculative report regarding the party’s candidates list for the 14th general election that was front paged in Tamil daily, Makkal Osai.

“If I am contesting I would know, right? It is pure 100% rubbish,” MIC Wanita chief M Mohana told Berita Daily.

“The report is merely a prediction. Our party president is the only one who knows the names on the list,” she added, in reference to MIC chief Dr S Subramaniam, who is Health Minister and Segamat MP.

Mohana is among the nine MIC candidates slated for the Kota Raja seat, reported Makkal Osai.

The report stated that Subramaniam would be shifting his seat from Segamat to Hulu Selangor which is currently held by Deputy Education Minister P Kamalanathan.

Kamalanathan would be moved to the Kapar parliament seat. The void left by Subramaniam in Segamat is to be filled by Subramaniam’s political secretary, M Manikumar.

Of the nine names, only deputy youth and sports minister M Saravanan retains his seat in Tapah.

Senator SK Devamany who is also deputy minister in charge of the Economic Planning Unit and MIC’s number two man meanwhile is reported to eye the Sungai Siput seat which is held by two term MP Dr D Michael Jeyakumar of PSM.

Former vice president S Sothinathan is slated for the Cameron Highland seat in Pahang.

The Teluk Kemang seat in Negeri Sembilan meanwhile would be contested by information chief VS Mogan.

The daily also named Subang MIC coordinator A Prakash Rao as the party’s candidate.

Presently MIC holds Segamat, Tapah and Hulu Selangor parliament seats. The Cameron Highlands seat is held by BN friendly G Palanivel who was ousted from his position as MIC chief.