They are Bolkiah Ismail (Pitas) and James Ratib (Sugut) from Umno as well as Masiung Banah (Kuamut) and Limus Jury (Kuala Penyu) from UPKO

KOTA KINABALU: Four state assemblymen from Barisan Nasional (BN) met Sabah Chief Minister Mohd Shafie Apdal at his residence in Luyang near here today, to express their support for his leadership and government.

They were Bolkiah Ismail (Pitas) and James Ratib (Sugut) from Umno as well as Masiung Banah (Kuamut) and Limus Jury (Kuala Penyu) from UPKO.

“They were there to support me and I did not reject their support,” he said.

Yesterday, Mohd Shafie, who is also Parti Warisan Sabah president, was sworn in as the 15th Chief Minister of Sabah at Istana Negeri, to replace the Barisan Nasional (BN) and Tanah Airku (Star) coalition government of Musa Aman, within 48 hours after losing its  a simple majority.

In the 14th general election (GE14) last Wednesday, Warisan gained 21 state seats, while its allies the DAP obtained six seats and PKR two seats.

The recent crossover of six BN assemblymen to Warisan will now make it easier for it to form the new state government.

Musa claims he is the rightful CM

Meanwhile Musa is claiming that he is the rightful chief minister of Sabah.

In a statement here last night, his press secretary Afeiza Khan said: “Please note that nothing has changed. YAB Musa Haji Aman has not resigned. He is still the rightful Chief Minister”.

No further explanation was provided.

Musa, who is Sabah Barisan Nasional (BN) Liaison Chairman, was sworn in as Sabah chief minister on the night of May 10 after the party claimed a simple majority of 31 state seats following a coalition with Parti Solidariti Tanah Airku (Star), that won two state seats in the 14th General Election (GE14).

Then, last night, Parti Warisan Sabah president Mohd Shafie Apdal was sworn in as chief minister after several assemblymen from BN crossed over to join Warisan and Pakatan Harapan, represented by PKR and DAP in Sabah.